A couple of neat visitors come to Carrizo Springs–one new, one pretty old.

A couple of General American 50′ RBLs recently came to Carrizo Springs.

I love these two cars.  They represent the closing legacy of two of my favorite fallen flags–the Rock and the Wabash.

IMG_2937

And…

IMG_2913

These are both Moloco General American 50′ RBLs.  They are outstanding products.  They are among the most well-researched and detailed cars on the market today.  For other road names, click here.  I like how Moloco’s website and Facebook page offer plenty of prototype photos and aid your modeling and weathering.

Note: Some modelers have expressed concerns about the price of these cars and others, but I have come to the point that I want quality and accuracy over quantity.  I’d rather have a few dozen super accurate cars than hundreds of “near cars” and foobies.  Not saying my approach is better, we all have different takes on the hobby.  That’s a good thing.  As long as people enjoy the hobby, their approach is perfect!  I really admire people who scratch build and paint cars as well.  In reality, when I super detail a car, by the time I buy pinlifters, hoses, decals, scale couplers, better trucks and wheels, etc., it adds up closer to the price of these cars.

IMG_2917

The Rock car was easy to prepare for 1979.  It was built in 1979.  Only light weathering was necessary.  It was hard to “lay down!”  I like heavy weathering.

IMG_2914

It is a gorgeous car.  It means a lot to me.  I was practicing Little League baseball in Houston, the first time I spied blue Rock rolling stock cruising across the street from the field.

Now the Wabash car was a little work, but well worth it I think.

This is how it came from Moloco.

WAB3.4_1024x1024

Getting it ready for 1979 was interesting.

IMG_2933

It needed its roof walk removed.  Then I added Moloco’s RB-0802 Roofwalk support brackets.

IMG_2929

Then I cut down the ladders, which was easy.  Then I added ACIs, wheel inspection dots, lube plates and a ladder warning.  Then it needed to be faded big time.

I applied a very thin light gray wash a couple of times, followed by a burnt umber-grimy black light wash.  I then dabbed a little dark rust and black powers here and there.

It is a bit of an effort, but worth it to me.  I have always wanted a couple of Wabash cars on my layout.

IMG_2931

Having it come into town maybe with a Norfolk Western boxcar will be nice.  (The Wabash became a division of the Norfolk and Western in 1964 and was formally merged into the NW many years later.  In 1979, there was a great diversity of Fallen Flag cars running the rails.

IMG_2934

The details on these cars are outstanding.

IMG_2936

Happy modeling!

rails-west-logo-ii

Leave a Reply

