Seasons Greetings from Rails West

nhhometown

Merry Christmas, Happy Hanukkah, Seasons Greetings and Happy New Years from Rails West.

When I was growing up, there was something special about seeing trains around Christmas.  On Christmas eve, we would always go to my uncle’s house near a busy line and I’d always run to the tracks with my camera when I heard a diesel horn.  I saw many a BN, ATSF, Rock trains run near his house.  The line was untypically silent on Christmas eve, but I always dreamed of seeing a Christmas eve train at night.  I never did, but I do recall seeing a few trains earlier in the day and that was just fine.

Below is a picture I snapped in 1980 on the line near my uncle’s house.

 

 

atsf-on-claremont-st-houston-tx-may-1980-iii

ATSF in Houston, 1980 -–©photo by C. Hunt

 

 

The connection between Christmas and railroads has always been special for me, and those recollections of chasing trains during the day on Christmas eve are still special to me!

The connection is still there and I wanted to share a recent video from the Union Pacific to illustrate an ongoing connection between railroads and Christmas.

All the best to you and yours over the holidays and into 2017!

One thought on “Seasons Greetings from Rails West

Leave a Reply

