Southern Pacific’s Dayton Depot in May of 1980

One of the more popular posts on Rails West covered train orders and old school railroading.  That post has triggered a great deal of interest in seeing my photos of the depot.  In fact, one reader said his mom was in the photos and asked for more.  He said she’d be thrilled to see these pictures.  If I can make someone’s mom happy, I’m going to do it!

So I am sharing all the photos I took of that depot on that overcast day in May of 1980.  I loved that depot.  It was very photogenic, and I love capturing the work of dedicated railroaders keeping the freight moving!

Dayton Texas station May 1980 doorA thing of beauty –©photo by C. E. Hunt

Dayton Texas station May 1980 putting the ordrs out IIGetting ready for a train –©photo by C. E. Hunt

Dayton Texas station May 1980 putting the ordrs out–©photo by C. E. Hunt

Dayton Texas station May 1980 reverse side IICotton Belt caboose parked near depot to right –©photo by C. E. Hunt

Dayton Texas station May 1980 reverse sideKind of muddy, love the old cars –©photo by C. E. Hunt

Dayton Texas station May 1980 semaphoreSemaphore! –©photo by C. E. Hunt

Dayton Texas station May 1980 towards millRice mills in distance –©photo by C. E. Hunt

Dayton Texas station May 1980A little messy –©photo by C. E. Hunt

And here is a sequence from when a train came by.

SP freight Dayton TX May 1980Here it comes! –©photo by C. E. Hunt

SP freight Dayton TX May 1980 III love the sounds and feeling of an approaching train! (especially the old SP)–©photo by C. E. Hunt

SP freight Dayton TX May 1980 IIIGrabbing the orders –©photo by C. E. Hunt

SP freight Dayton TX May 1980 IVCool, new GB&W boxcars –©photo by C. E. Hunt

SP freight Dayton TX May 1980 VMore cool, new boxcars –©photo by C. E. Hunt

SP freight Dayton TX May 1980 VI more ordersLove how interesting freights were back then, railroaders in action working to get both the engine and caboose personnel informed.–©photo by C. E. Hunt

SP freight Dayton TX May 1980 VI more orders cabooseI love that era of railroading! –©photo by C. E. Hunt

I also had to go capture that caboose parked near the depot!

SSW caboose Dayton TX May 1980I miss these! More great cars.–©photo by C. E. Hunt

I am so glad I recorded these scenes.  I hope I made someone mom’s happy (and all my readers).

 

Leave a Reply

