A trip to the Roundhouse…(Part III)

GPs hanging around the service area, January 1979.  –©photo by C.E. Hunt

GPs hanging around the service area, January 1979. –©photo by C.E. Hunt

Once I hung around the core area of the Hardy Street Shops in Houston, Texas for quite awhile that special day in January 1979, I went to explore the surroundings.  I found some additional treats.

SP SSW Caboose at Milby St Roundhouse Jan 1979 II

SSW Caboose #19 between assignments. -–©photo by C.E. Hunt

SSW Caboose #19 close up. -–©photo by C.E. Hunt

SSW Caboose #19 close up. -–©photo by C.E. Hunt

I then spied another crummy nearby.

SP Caboose #617 near Hardy Street Street Shops.-–©photo by C.E. Hunt

SP Caboose #617 near Hardy Street Street Shops.-–©photo by C.E. Hunt

SP Caboose at Milby Street Roundhouse Jan 1979

Other side of SP #617. -–©photo by C.E. Hunt

Then I saw a lonesome Alco S-6 almost ostracized off in the distance.

SP Alco #1257 sitting all by itself. -–©photo by C.E. Hunt

SP Alco #1257 sitting all by itself. -–©photo by C.E. Hunt

It and a partner were all alone, the door was open and I was a kid.  You know what came next.  In my haste, I forgot to take a picture of the locomotive!

From inside the S-6, January 1979. –©photo by C.E. Hunt

From inside the S-6, January 1979. –©photo by C.E. Hunt

My pulse was racing.  I had no business doing what I was doing!

Contrils inside the S-6, January 1979. –©photo by C.E. Hunt

Controls inside the S-6, January 1979. –©photo by C.E. Hunt

From inside the S-6, January 1979 looking over the top. –©photo by C.E. Hunt

From inside the S-6, January 1979 looking over the top. –©photo by C.E. Hunt

S-6 couplers, January 1979. Note running boards. –©photo by C.E. Hunt

S-6 couplers, January 1979. Note foot boards. –©photo by C.E. Hunt

Again in my excitement, I failed to snap a good picture of #1257.  The S-6s would soon disappear.  Locomotive #1257 would leave the SP rails in six months.

SP locomotives at Hardy Street Roundhouse Jan 1979.   -–©photo by C.E. Hunt

SP locomotives at Hardy Street Roundhouse Jan 1979. -–©photo by C.E. Hunt

This concludes my series on the Hardy Street Shops.  In the coming months, I will share more Rails West experiences from late 1970s on!

One thought on “A trip to the Roundhouse…(Part III)

  1. Thank you for these photos! I’ve been looking everywhere for photos of the Hardy shops for the past few years. I’m trying to model the shops and your photo have really helped.

    I greatly appreciate you uploading you photos and sharing your experiences. It was very interesting and insightful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

