A trip to the Roundhouse…(Part II)

When I was finally able to pull myself away from the turntable, I set out to explore to rest of the Hardy Street Shops.  The diversity of locomotives and cabooses was pretty impressive.  Also impressive, looking back, was the access a 16-year old boy had–just me and my hand-me-down Minolta.

SP locomotives at Milby Street Roundhouse Jan 1979 V

NW2 1310 in between assignments. See roundhouse in the distance. –©photo by C.E. Hunt

Sanding tracks, Hardy Street Shops, January 1979.  --©photo by C. E. Hunt

Sanding tracks, Hardy Street Shops, January 1979. –©photo by C. E. Hunt

The diversity of equipment was staggering.

SP Alco at Milby Street Roundhouse Jan 1979 II

Alco C628 resting, Hardy Street Shops, January 1979. –©photo by C.E. Hunt

SD-45  #9126 in for service.  --©photo by C. E. Hunt

SD-45 #9126 and SW1200 #2268 in for service. –©photo by C. E. Hunt

I had to go peek at the turntable one more time before I left this magical place…

SW1500 #2674 sneaks onto the turntable.  Will her twin fit?  --©photo by C. E. Hunt

SW1500 #2674 sneaks onto the turntable. Will her twin fit? –©photo by C. E. Hunt

In part III, I will share some of the cabooses I shot there as well as my sneaking up into an Alco S-6 (#1257) just a few months before it would leave the SP in July of 1979.

Leave a Reply

