A trip to the Roundhouse…(Part I)

When I was 16 years old, I begged my dad to take me to the Hardy Street shops to take some pictures of the SP.  I am glad he agreed.  It is all gone now.  The Union Pacific moved locomotive servicing to other locations in and around Houston.  The day I visited, the place was covered with locomotives, including many Alcos.  In this day and age, It is amazing to think what access I had to the site–just a 16-year old boy and his all manual Minolta.

SP locomotives at Hardy Street Shops in January of 1979. --©photo by C. Hunt

SP locomotives at Hardy Street Shops in January of 1979. –©photo by C. Hunt

I was fascinated watching the turntable work.  Below are a few of the photos I took to capture it in operation.

Almost back inside.  Jan 1979. --©photo by C. Hunt

SP GP leaves roundhouse and enters turntable at Hardy Street Shops in January of 1979. –©photo by C. Hunt

Almost there!  Jan 1979. --©photo by C. Hunt

It begins to turn. Jan 1979. –©photo by C. Hunt

With the locomotive in place, the operator starts to turn the table.

Almost complete. Jan 1979. –©photo by C. Hunt

SP GP eases onto the turntable, Jan 1979.  --©photo by C. Hunt

SP GP eases off the turntable, Jan 1979. –©photo by C. Hunt

SP GP-9 leaves roundhouse and enters turntable at Hardy Street Shops in January of 1979

SP GP waits partially back inside Roundhouse January of 1979. –©photo by C. Hunt

The GP then eased back into the roundhouse.  Jan 1979. --©photo by C. Hunt

Here comes another one. Jan 1979. –©photo by C. Hunt

In part II, I will share what I encountered exploring around the facility.

2 thoughts on “A trip to the Roundhouse…(Part I)

  1. Pingback: Why I carry a camera on every trip out and about | Andrew's Trains – Formerly andrews-trains.fotopic.net

Leave a Reply

