My first time…

When I was 15, my uncle Kenneth gave me a Minolta 35 mm camera, totally manual–even the f-stop.  He loves photography and taught me to love it as well.

The first thing I wanted to do was shoot pictures of trains.  So when my mom said she needed to go to Fed-Mart on Mykawa road across from a mouth into the Mykawa freight yard and near the crossover of the Southern Pacific right there as well, I was ALL in.

Here are some pictures of the first train I shot in 1978.

(Note:  This is a little break from wiring on my layout plus I finally broke down and got a slide scanner!  Expect a number of posts in the future of my rail adventures from 1978-1981.  Lot’s of MP, ATSF, SP, Rock and many other goodies to come.)

The first train I shot, an MP freight easing across Griggs road and making up a larger train. In Houston on Mykawa Road in  July 1978 --©photo by C. Hunt

The first train I shot, an MP freight easing across Griggs road and making up a larger train. In Houston on Mykawa Road in July 1978 –©photo by C. Hunt

In Houston on Mykawa Road in July 1978 --©photo by C. Hunt

In Houston on Mykawa Road in July 1978 –©photo by C. Hunt

Check out the newish BN cars and CB&Q hopper. In Houston on Mykawa Road in July 1978 --©photo by C. Hunt

Check out the new and already dirty BN cars and CB&Q hopper. In Houston on Mykawa Road in July 1978 –©photo by C. Hunt

MP my first train I shot, Houston, Mykawa Road July 1978 IV

The engines went into reverse so I got another crack at the train. In Houston on Mykawa Road in July 1978 –©photo by C. Hunt

MP my first train I shot, Houston, Mykawa Road July 1978 V

Here’s some old MP hoppers. In Houston on Mykawa Road in July 1978 –©photo by C. Hunt

MP my first train I shot, Houston, Mykawa Road July 1978 VI

The sun came out and I got another shot of the BN cars and a better shot of the CB&Q hopper. Note gravel cars! In Houston on Mykawa Road in July 1978 –©photo by C. Hunt

Much, much more to come.  I love the new scanner!  We are going to have some fun with it!  Meanwhile, back to wiring…

One thought on “My first time…

  1. Ahhh…good old Houston back in the day. In 1978, I was working the road out of the old HPD Park Place substation so this was actually in my beat. I saw plenty of rail action, too (but I knew how to navigate around it…a requirement to be a good radio patrolman)! Great memories, brother.

    Like

Leave a Reply

